It's official... WordPress here I come! I've started setting up my blog with WordPress. I acquired a domain, chose a host, installed WordPress and now I'm just figuring it all out. It's very fun and exciting. I'm just so anxious to see the finished product and it feels like it's taking me forever! I even went and invested in "WordPress for Dummies." It has actually helped me a lot! 
Picture
My New Best Friend.
Unfortunately, it doesn't look like WordPress is going to make it easy to import all of my previous blogs from here at Weebly. I'm disappointed about this and have not given up yet. I'm hoping in later chapters of my Dummy book I will be guided through the process. I did notice on WordPress that there are certain blogging sites they have an easy import option... Weebly was not one of them. Go figure!

The thing I'm most excited and nervous about is my blog design. I have a feeling the WordPress themes are not going to be to my liking. Does anyone have any suggestions for this? Obviously, I would like to avoid spending money on doing this if at all possible. Is there a way to make it look "lovely-ish" on my own?

So excited,
Lovely Rita 

3/6/2010 10:21:08 pm

So funny! I just started blogging. Bought this same book. I went with the hosted version. And I don't like the way it looks at all. I went with the vigilance theme because I could do a custom header and play with the colors a little. But, I am really confused about the whole thing. I don't like the way it looks at all. I'd love hear if you figure out how to make it prettier. I also cannot figure out how to get the pages to work the way I want them to. If you figure it out, let me know! ;)

Reply
3/9/2010 04:57:01 am

Hi Rita,

Just wanted to let you know I think you made a great choice to go with Wordpress! I recently changed my website over to it and love it. Yes, there are challenges but anything I needed to learn was free on the web (like css coding). I went with the Atahualpa theme and it is quite versatile! Another place which has nice free templates is templatelite.com. The beauty part is that they all install automatically and the only reason you might need css coding is if you want to move things around. Anyway, have fun working on it!

Reply
2/16/2012 04:38:53 am

Hi, found you by searching El Goog. I was wondering if you ever found a way to import all of your old posts into WP, or did you need to do one of those tedious copy and paste jobs?

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    SUBSCRIBE TO 
    MY BLOG 

    Enter your email address:

    Delivered by FeedBurner

    FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER


    Author

    I'm the author. Me. Rita. 

    Archives

    March 2010
    February 2010
    January 2010
    December 2009

    RSS Feed

    Real Heart Prints
    Nurse Mommy
    Nurse Mommy
    Laughing Lindsay
    BlogHer.com Logo

    The Crunchy Wife
    The Crunchy Spring Event
    Eco-Friendly and Frugal
    The Posh Place for Posh Moms
    Goodie Goodie Gumdrops
    Search & Win